My New Steed for Bike to Work Month

My New Steed

Even though I did say that I would wait until after my graduation to purchase a new bike, I bit the bullet over the weekend and picked up a new hybrid from Cal Coast Bicycles. Our credit card cash back made the sting a little less painful.

So far this week I have made it to work on the black stallion (wow, that sounds cheesy). The new bike is so much faster and smoother than my mountain bike. Should of picked up a hybrid in the first place (I felt cheap 4 years ago).

The nice thing about the bike is the bigger and skinnier tires along with the rack I had installed on the back. I do not like wearing backpacks because the sweaty back problem. I already sweat enough (ask my wife about the hike in Cinque Terre). I also had them install a water bottle holder which for some reason I have still not put on my mountain bike. The only thing I do not have is a pair of spandex shorts and I think I am fine with that.

Packed and Ready to go.

During the commute to and from work, the problem is not so much getting there (mostly downhill), it is the massive hill coming back up from Little Italy. Juniper is such a hilly street here in San Diego. So far I have made it up 2 out of 3 times without having to walk up. I wonder if my legs will work after a week of this.

I hope to be able to ride to work every day in May. I bet most of you did not know it is National Bike to Work Month. Let’s see if I can do it and also take off a few of those craft brew pounds.

I will let you know it I can make it because I know all of you are sitting on the edge of your seat to see if I can really commit to something for a month. Challenge accepted!

Though can I have a pass on May 20 for a Padres game downtown even though that is the actual Bike to Work Day? I will ride every other day of the month, I swear.

2 thoughts on “My New Steed for Bike to Work Month

Leave a Reply

